Testimonials , Guest Reviews, Comments Hawaii Vacation Rentals

Red Deer County, CA
Reviewed: May 8, 2017
Property Manager
The Team are always considering our needs. We know if we have a problem it will be looked after quickly. It was lovely to get to know Karen & Patti, and have the opportunity to sit on the lani with them to share the brilliant sunset. We look forward to seeing them next year.
Property
We have been staying 3 months in this home every winter for years! We just love being there. It is a quiet, private, location, where we can wake up with the birds outside our window every morning. It is a very welcome break from Alberta winters. We can walk up the mountain, kayak with dolphins, whale watch, or just sit and watch the waves. Every sunset is beautiful, and the perfect way to end each wonderful day in Hanu Kai.
View Property: Hanu Kai Kohala By The Sea
Reviewed: Apr 19, 2017
Property
Right across the street from sandy beach in Puako on the Kohala Coast Feels brand new and the views are great! Our family of 4 found this property to be more than expected. Although the Puako Condo is an older building, it is very well maintained and the tropical gardens all around made coming home from our beach outings even more welcoming. This top floor unit offers everything you might want and it was less than the cost of a hotel room! Our daughter had the bedroom in the back with a king size bed, our son took the twin bedroom in the back. They shared the bathroom in the hall with the twin beds. My husband and I had the ocean facing bedroom and used the other bathroom adjacent to it. Although we were very active and out seeing the island, we tried to get home every evening for the amazing sunsets and prepare a meal in the wonderful kitchen. Our dinners were typically outside on the lanai facing the ocean. Our children would often time go down to the pool in the early evening or they walked across the street to the beach while were prepared dinner. It was just a fabulous vacation for us and we would love to return next year!
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Reviewed: Apr 18, 2017
Property
Puako is a great place to stay, with beautiful beaches close by (69 was a favorite), and a lovely General Store for anything you forget to bring (although a little pricey)! It is quite far from Kona and grocery stores (approx. 40mins), so a tip for all would be to plan your meals and shop big before you head to Puako! You will definately need a rental car to get around and access the different beaches, and shopping areas in the nearby resorts. The house was great - well equipped with everything you require (including beach gear for the kids). Large and spacious - our extended family had plenty of room to ensure we didn't get in each other's way. However, it does get very warm upstairs, so might be an idea to purchase the additional air-con. We didn't and it was pretty sticky up there at night. Only not-as-positive feedback is safety around the pool - we had toddlers with us and needed to be on guard at all times, as we weren't able to lock some of the screen doors near the pool. Pattie was a great host - communicative and responsive. Finally - I recommend swimming with the manta-rays - a very cool experience ...!!
View Property: Honu Ohana - Puako 59
Reviewed: Apr 12, 2017
Property
We had a lovely time at the house, it was very peaceful and quiet . Shelia was very helpful and kind and the house was so clean and welcoming when we arrived. The homemade chocolate chip cookies and fresh flowers were a nice touch. The house was well stocked in every way, beach toys, sunscreen, drink mixers, kitchen utensils, pillows, bathroom supplies, it pretty much had everything you could need! The grounds were well kept and the outside shower a real treat. I loved sitting on the side porch reading and listening to the ocean and all the birds. The beach across the street is a hidden gem. At low tide the little pools are warm and so fun to swim in. We found the snorkeling to be the best on the island right there, filled with fish and turtles. Loved being at the end of the road. So thank you for a lovely place! We will look forward to coming back to the Big Island again, had so much fun exploring hiking swimming, being. Appreciate your excellent service with the house, Take care.
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Reviewed: Mar 21, 2017
Property
Puako Beach Cottage Right across the street from the ocean. The sum of Paniau Surf Cottage is greater than its parts My wife of fifty plus years and I have been visiting Puako each year for many years. How odd it is, to find a nearly-perfect house at the end of Puako Beach Drive after all those years. We rented the cottage a year ago and almost immediately, began to have questions about the location and the house. Would the house be as portrayed in images and words? Would it be dusty from the access road behind? Would it be noisy from the parking lot across the street? Would the neighbors be quiet? Would the house be hot during the day? Would it be clean? Would there be mildew and/or mold? Would there be excessive rules and regs? The answer to each of these questions (and others which I now cant recall) was NO. Upon our arrival, Sheila met us and took us through a tour of the cottage showing off the features and explaining what needed to be explained. [At this point, I must be brutally honest and say that as an American male I do not easily ask for directions. I never did figure out the DVR.] She was an invaluable neighbor and helper and now our friend. Patty, the property manager, also was prompt with helpful answers and useful information. All aspects of the house and grounds delighted us. We particularly liked the lanai with its comfortable furniture, lights and fans (We ate all of our lunches and a couple of dinners there). Inside, we liked the simplicity and openness, the tile floors, the many ceiling fans and the lack of frou-frou. During the day, the interior remained cool with good ventilation from all sides. The trade winds provided a refreshing breeze from the ocean at the front. At night, cool winds came down from Mauna Kea to the rear. The house recently underwent an excellent upgrading ... what we needed was there and everything worked for us. Outside, the lawn and comfortable lounge chairs were perfect for catching some rays. The open space to the rear and side (views of volcanoes and kiawe) and the many varieties of butterflies and birds (including a pueo behind the house one day) plus several mongooses surrounded us with Big Island nature. A short walk across the street brought us to Paniau Bay and enjoyable shore walks in both directions. There were many spectacular sunsets. If we were to come again to Puako, we absolutely would reserve the Paniau Surf Cottage with no reservations what-so-ever. Hey, wait a minute ... we are returning next February!
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Reviewed: Mar 2, 2017
Property
This is a lovely home in a great location and sitting on a located a sweet piece of property. Private and quiet...well, except for the morning birds :) Clean and equipped with whatever you might ordinarily need. We had several small problems and the response and repair was immediate. For us one of the delights about the property is that one really gets the feel of living in Hawaii, rather than being a tourist. We really loved our stay at Bamboo Cottage.
View Property: Bamboo
Reviewed: Feb 18, 2017
Property
Hi Pattie, We have enjoyed every second of our time at Hula Moon. We have stayed in many rental properties in various places but this beats them all. It is exceptionally well equipped and met our every need. It even went beyond that and fulfilled our every want. It is the perfect house!! We have left the house locked with the keys on the table. All towels on laundry room counters are clean. There are some towels in the washer we used this morning. Thank you for your help and if we ever come back you will be our contact.
View Property: Home of the Hula Moon
Reviewed: Feb 13, 2017
Property Manager
Ms. Freeman and her staff where very welcoming but not intrusive.
Property
To whom it may concern or lucky enough to be able to book this property. This was my fourth visit to The Big Island and I knew I wanted to stay north of Kona. After several hours of research and contacting owners on two internet sites (VRBO and Airbnb) I was convinced by Ms Freeman that Hanu Kai was an ideal place for a writer seeking quiet and inspiration. Hanu Kai was all that and more with the unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean or as I call it "Gods infinity pool and the magnificent sunsets. Bottom line is my fifth visit to The Big Island will be at Seaside and for two months.
Reviewed: Feb 13, 2017
Property Manager
Ms. Freeman and her staff where very welcoming but not intrusive.
Property
To whom it may concern or lucky enough to be able to book this property. This was my fourth visit to The Big Island and I knew I wanted to stay north of Kona. After several hours of research and contacting owners on two internet sites (VRBO and Airbnb) I was convinced by Ms Freeman that Hanu Kai was an ideal place for a writer seeking quiet and inspiration. Hanu Kai was all that and more with the unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean or as I call it "Gods infinity pool and the magnificent sunsets. Bottom line is my fifth visit to The Big Island will be at Seaside and for two months.
View Property: Hanu Kai Kohala By The Sea
Anchorage, US
Reviewed: Jan 24, 2017
Property Manager
We have learned over the years that rentals handled by Pattie Freeman are well maintained, equipped and clean. This is definitely not the case with others we have rented from.
Property
Although the property lacks a view, the ease of access to the beach club, pool, and exercise room are a definite advantage. The unit itself is very comfortable and makes you feel at home.
View Property: Villages at Mauna Lani Resort 510
Lugano, CH
Reviewed: Jan 19, 2017
Property Manager
Property
Staying at Aina Malia was an amazing experience, you live by the ocean and we managed to see from the house whales, turtles and manta rays. It's the perfect house to spend time with family during the holidays. Thank you Pattie for everything
View Property: Aina Malia
Reviewed: Jan 19, 2017
Property
The house is located in a gated community, close to the shops and the beaches. We were provided access key to the private Mauna Lani Resort sandy beach with cabanas and a great restaurant. You can snorkel right there as well, especially in the morning, when water is crystal clear. It is an excellent beach for everybody, especially for families. The house has everything you need for your vacation, and Pattie is a wonderful host, very responsive and accommodating. All rooms are spacious and pretty quiet. I highly recommend this awesome place for your next vacation!
View Property: Villages at Mauna Lani Resort 510
Reviewed: Jan 5, 2017
Property
The house is located in a gated community, close to the shops and the beaches. We were provided access key to the private Mauna Lani Resort sandy beach with cabanas and a great restaurant. You can snorkel right there as well, especially in the morning, when water is crystal clear. It is an excellent beach for everybody, especially for families. The house has everything you need for your vacation, and Pattie is a wonderful host, very responsive and accommodating. All rooms are spacious and pretty quiet. I highly recommend this awesome place for your next vacation!
View Property: Mauna Lani Fairways 905
Reviewed: Nov 19, 2016
Property Manager
Ms. Freeman and her staff where very welcoming but not intrusive.
Property
To whom it may concern or lucky enough to be able to book this property. This was my fourth visit to The Big Island and I knew I wanted to stay north of Kona. After several hours of research and contacting owners on two internet sites (VRBO and Airbnb) I was convinced by Ms. Freeman that Hanu Kai was an ideal place for a writer seeking quiet and inspiration. Hanu Kai was all that and more with the unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean or as I call it "Gods infinity pool and the magnificent sunsets. Bottom line is my fifth visit to The Big Island will be at Seaside and for two months.
Reviewed: Nov 14, 2016
Property Manager
Property
This is a review of my experience renting Unit #905 at The Fairways at Mauna Lani on the Big Island. I arrived on a Saturday and departed one week later. First, the instructions from the rental agent were exact and easy to understand. The rental agent was easy to reach and responsive to any requests. My wife and I arrived to find the condominium in tip top shape with many extras, such as books, games, playing cards. May I also add that the unit was beautifully furnished and maintained. We were extremely comfortable and especially enjoyed the lovely linens and towels. Everything in this lovely unit worked as advertised. The location is also a short walk to the ocean. Going the other direction is a short walk to a great grocery store and lovely shops and restaurants. Each morning I took the short walk to the grocery for a few items and newspapers. The pool and spa area were really comfortable and just plain beautiful-almost like a private lagoon. In summary, I liked the rental unit so much that I intend to come back as soon as I can break free for a week. This property has my highest rating.
View Property: Mauna Lani Fairways 905
Peican Waters , AU
Reviewed: Nov 4, 2016
Property Manager
Pattie, our contact, was so lovely and helpful.
Property
Lovely quiet resort, lovely pool and lovely surroundings.
View Property: Mauna Lani Fairways 905
Reviewed: Oct 24, 2016
Property Manager
I would like to thank you for letting my son and his fiance (they got engaged while we were there) stay later then the check out time. That was incredibly generous of you. If I'd been thinking ahead of time I would have planned that well in advance. So thank you again for the last minute change. I want to say the condo was absolutely fantastic. I worried about renting it sight unseen from thousands of miles away. As you know, descriptions and pictures are sometimes deceiving. In this case it was just the opposite. Words and pictures didn't come close to showing how great the condo was--everything from the layout to the location was perfect. The directions I got months in advance on how to get there was the first clue that this was going to be a great place. The instructions were spot on and we got there without a problem. From the minute we walked in we noticed how clean and well kept the condo was. The view was breathtaking. We opened all the windows and doors and had an ocean breeze that was refreshing and the perfect temperature, even though the days were hot. The condo had everything we needed, from towels to kitchen supplies, and even a whole closet of beach toys. And the beaches--three minutes from a perfect snorkeling beach and five minutes from a big sandy beach with a park (Hapuna Beach). Easy access to the main hiway-close to great shopping, sightseeing, and Kona. We were close enough to get anywhere yet tucked away along a quiet neighborhood street. We even met some friendly cats! We couldn't have asked for a better vacation. I came to run the inaugural Ragnar Relay which was challenging to say the least. I am so glad I had this place to go to when we were done. I am also in school online and so the wifi was essential and worked out so well for us. We also got to watch some football early in the day and still had time for swimming. I can't say enough good things about our stay in unit 407. I will tell anyone about the excellent customer service and how wonderful this condo is. I hope to return someday, and if I do, I want to stay in the exact same place!! Thank you again for accommodating us. Or should I say, Mahalo. Sarah
Kamuela, US
Reviewed: Oct 21, 2016
Property Manager
Pattie Freeman sent us instructions and communicated with us months in advance so we were ready for our stay. I called her when we got there and she called right back the next day (we were later in the day getting in so I didn't expect a call back until the next day anyway--actually, I didn't expect a call back at all)
Property
Loved the stay. The property is clean, quiet, well maintained, and in a great location. Views are awesome. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 407
Reviewed: Oct 16, 2016
Property Manager
I have known Pattie Freeman from HVR for about 11 years. She has been the vacation rental agent for 3 of our Puako homes including the current one, Home of the Hula Moon. Pattie does a great job of vetting her potential guests and they have consistently been some of the nicest and most considerate visitors to our homes. Pattie takes the time to match the people to the property and that is really important. Visitors spend a great deal of time and money to find the perfect spot for their vacation rental. I spend a lot of time making sure that my home functions and looks beautiful because it is our family home too. Pattie finds the guests who appreciate and respect that, so I always tell people that Pattie finds the best guests. M.G. Morris Owner
View Property: Home of the Hula Moon
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2016
Property
The cottage is perfect! It's across the road from the ocean in a very chill part of the island. The caretaker took such good care of us! She helped with suggestions and even found a coconut for my mom who was desperately looking for one. Thank you for such a great stay! We hope yo visit again.
View Property: Bamboo
Oakland, US
Reviewed: Jul 22, 2016
Property Manager
Friendly, prompt, professional service.
Property
We loved it. Wonderfully appointed kitchen, including beautiful cookware. We really appreciated the two refrigerators and then we found the third fridge in the outdoor bar area and moved all the beer there. :-) Plenty of towels for the bath and beach; comfortable beds and linens. I would highly recommend purchasing the air conditioning. The temperature reached the mid-80s during our July stay and we appreciated having a cool space out of the sun in mid-day. All in all, the best all-around property we have rented in our 6+ visits to the Big Island.
View Property: Aina Malia
Reviewed: Jul 13, 2016
Property
Great villa, very spacious and well appointed. Immaculately clean and in a great spot. Close to shops and restaurants a short drive from a range of lovely beaches. Pattie was really helpful when we had internet issues and came over to try and sort the issue that day. A fantastic place to stay on the Big Island. Zana April 2016 Villages at Mauna Lani Resort 510
View Property: Villages at Mauna Lani Resort 510
Santa Rosa, US
Reviewed: Jun 23, 2016
Property Manager
Working with Patti and Sheila was easy and pleasant. Patti always responded quickly and professionally, answering any questions I had before our stay there. Sheila took wonderful care of us and the home while we were there. It was lovely to meet her and to know that she was right next door if we needed help. She is such a nice person.
Property
This is a lovely property. Great for kids. The beach right across the street was so pretty and convenient. We enjoyed the large yard and comfortable beds. We would definitely stay here again!
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Seattle, US
Reviewed: May 24, 2016
Property Manager
The rental office staff was helpful and efficient and communicated clearly.
Property
This 4th (top) floor condo has a nice view of the ocean from the living room and master bed. It is an older (80s?) building. Unit 407 is fully furnished and stocked with everything needed except your clothes, personal care items, and food. Even has a little reference library in the cabinet by the kitchen! We were greeted by a large bouquet of flowers and a clean condo.
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 407
Reviewed: May 17, 2016
Property
We will be back to this wonderful paradise! My family and I rented this beautiful Ohana for a Week. We wanted a place that our family could gather for a week to celebrate our 40th Anniversary, my 63rd Birthday and have a shower for a future daughter in la who lives and works here. Aina Malia was the perfect spot. My twin boys had both recently gotten engaged and our daughter married last summer so this was an opportunity for all 8 of us to get to know each other better and forge some new family memories. Having separate entrances and bathrooms for each couple worked great and everyone loved the outside showers and most comfortable beds. The home was so well organized and everything was well labeled so searching was kept to a minimum and they had EVERYTHING we might have needed. Having the pass through from the outdoor dining table to the kitchen allowed for whoever was cooking that night to still feel a part of the action. Each couple had a night to prepare a meal for everyone and on our anniversary we had a friend come up from Kona to make dinner for us all. Having the double fridges allowed us to bring much of the food up with us. And big BONUS was the Bar fridge for sparkling water and beer! The Eagle Ray sitings in the calm morning clear water were the perfect compliment to our coffee and later snorkeling or paddle boarding. The yard made for some exciting Bocce Ball games in the early evening as well. Having the beautiful new washer and dryer made keeping towels dry so easy. While we did not have much down time (by choice we are an active group!), the movie selection was extremely tempting! The beautiful glass and wood bowls as well as the original art truly made us feel that a special place was being shared with us. Someone was always finding new details in the tile and ceramic work, or with the asian wood components incorporated into the home. Sleep always came easy by 10 PM with the fans cooling us when the natural breezes stopped.The sounds of the birds got us moving again by 6AM! Healthy schedule! Having the hiking trail that follows the coast was a bonus for the runners in the group and my morning swim to the rock island and back was perfect. We hosted a shower with a small group of my future daughter in laws friends from here on the island. They loved being able to walk down the rock path and step into the sandy bottom of the bay. So memories of Aina Malia will have to hold me for a few years! Mahalo for making it so easy to be in someone else's home and feel so at home! ~ The Doucettes
View Property: Aina Malia