Testimonials , Guest Reviews, Comments Hawaii Vacation Rentals

Hawaii Vacation Rentals Guest Testimonials
 
Pattie Freeman is Owner/Realtor of Hawaii Vacation Rentals, Inc. and has been in business for 25 years in Hawaii. She is well known for her creative view on the Hawaiian Island lifestyle. If you would like to purchase oceanfront land here in the islands, then Puako Pattie is the person to contact. Her e mail is [email protected] and if you have any questions please call 800-332-7081 or 808-882-7000.
 







 
Patricia Freeman, Realtor Broker




Please e-mail any comments or testimonials you would like to add.
 

Write a Review
Leslie
Kamuela, US
Reviewed: Oct 29, 2017
Property Manager
Great!
Property
The location of this property is amazing and despite the extremely high winds while we were there, we enjoyed swimming from the house in the early morning while the 69's was empty. Homes so close to the water can sometimes have a musty feeling, but this home felt fresh and very well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and quality of bedding nice. The home was well appointed and clean. The outdoor showers were a highlight as they are private and lovely. It really is an amazing spot. I often looked at the house from the beach wondering what it was like. It did not disappoint, what a wonderful home. Thank you.
View Property: Aina Malia
Anonymous
Reviewed: Oct 29, 2017
Property Manager
Great!
Property
The location of this property is amazing and despite the extremely high winds while we were there, we enjoyed swimming from the house in the early morning while the 69's was empty. Homes so close to the water can sometimes have a musty feeling, but this home felt fresh and very well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and quality of bedding nice. The home was well appointed and clean. The outdoor showers were a highlight as they are private and lovely. It really is an amazing spot. I often looked at the house from the beach wondering what it was like. It did not disappoint, what a wonderful home. Thank you.
View Property: Aina Malia
Debbie and Mike
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2017
Property
We were pleasantly surprised how open, spacious, and clean the condo is. When the beach towels were missing they promptly brought over some for us, as we were headed out to a day at the beach nearby. Well appointed, with things such as coolers, beach chairs, snorkel gear, bbq grill, patio chairs, etc. Its also located in such a lovely area, nearby to the Hilton resort, and two nice shopping areas, the Queens and Kings with bars and restaurants for your eating pleasure. We even found a farmers market on Wednesday morning! We would definitely highly recommend this vacation rental and we hope we can come back again! Mahalo!
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Craig
Reviewed: Oct 24, 2017
Property
We really enjoyed our stay here. The place is roomy with a well-stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, and lovely patio area with gas grill. I was in town for a conference at the Hilton and the place is just a short walk away from the conference area, but much more relaxing and better value than staying in the hotel. Strongly recommended.
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Paul
Reviewed: Oct 24, 2017
Property
Waikaloa Beach is a great location - very convenient with a great beach, lots of shops for convenience, yet quiet and relaxing and only a 20 minute drive down the Queen K Hwy to the airport. Just wanted to say we really loved the apartment and had a great stay. We were really impressed with how well the apartment was stocked and all the amenities. We loved our stay.
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Tyler
Reviewed: Oct 18, 2017
Property
This condo is a great place to stay. It's seconds from a nice beach and minutes from a world class one. It's a bit far north from Kona, but that gets you away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy area. Highly recommend this location.
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Jim
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2017
Property
We enjoy the privacy, the direct access to the ocean, the views of Waialea Bay, the Kohala Range, and the tree lined beach. It is difficult break the experience into parts; it is an experience that starts when you walk through the gates and look out through the palm trees to Maui, from the smells of the flowers in the morning, to the sound of the surf, the setting is unique and it combines to create a relaxed tranquil environment. The ocean activities are unlimited, the beach is unique, and the island offers - volcano exploration at Volcano National Park, scuba diving, snorkeling, paddle boarding, horseback riding, sailing, helicopter adventures, and experiences in the Hawaiian Culture at Puukohala Heiau National Park. We have participated in all of it over the time we have spent at Aina Malia and each year discover a new activity. We have recommended Aina Malia to others and one recently booked it for seven days and will be rebooking next year for a longer period. It easy to share this opportunity with others spend several weeks once you have tried it.
View Property: Aina Malia
Donna
Oakland, US
Reviewed: Sep 11, 2017
Property Manager
Property
This was our second stay at Aina Malia. I cannot say enough about its spectacular location. The fact that there is no indoor dining has not been an issue for us on either of our stays. We love the property and appreciated the ability to have a kayak and paddleboards, along with the necessary PFDs for children ranging in age from 1-10, delivered to the house.
View Property: Aina Malia
Sarah
Reviewed: Sep 8, 2017
Property Manager
Aloha, Pattie! Thank you so much for everything! Our experience with you and Hawaiian Vacation Rentals was outstanding. We recommend you to anyone that asks!
View Property: Villages at Mauna Lani Resort 510
Sarah and Jim
Reviewed: Sep 6, 2017
Property
Exceptionally magical! 5 STARS We had a perfect vacation - everything we could have possibly needed or wanted was there! From the decor to the floor plan, we were impressed and delighted! Thank you for making our holiday truly magical!
View Property: Villages at Mauna Lani Resort 510
Jan
Reviewed: Sep 2, 2017
Property
This quaint beach cottage is in a truly magical location and any "funkiness" is quickly over-ruled by it's incredible location and ease of inhabiting. We quickly got used to the 2 levels and locking up one to access the other situation. The upstairs kitchen/livingroom area is more than adequate, super comfortable with lovely furnishings, and has a very lovely lania for outdoor dining with a glance at the ocean. The kitchen is well stocked and we so appreciated the pantry that accumulated past resident's fine provisions. The caretaker (Sheila) who lives next door is so incredibly helpful and friendly and made us feel quite welcomed. The location really can't be beat. There is a wonderful shoreline access just across the street with such an easy access into the ocean for great snorkeling. Just 2 miles away is what we believe to be the BEST beach on the island. This is a lovely place to stay on one of the most revered spots on the island!
View Property: Bamboo
Shelly
Reviewed: Sep 1, 2017
Property
Everything is great! The condo is beautiful and the location couldn't be better. We are thrilled and happy to be staying here. Mahalo!
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Ma'ata
Reviewed: Aug 31, 2017
Property
What a wonderful stay in such a beautiful spot. The condo is super comfortable and well appointed. Everything one needs in the kitchen is available, including a coffee grinder for sipping Kona coffee, pots and pans to create a home cooked meal, wine glasses to celebrate with on the ample lanai. The view is amazing - looking over the coconut trees to the ocean is heavenly. There are a lot of fruit trees on the grounds, and the groundskeepers leave papayas, bananas, lemons and oranges for guests. I had a most excellent stay. Mahalo!
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Walt
Reviewed: Jul 28, 2017
Property
We enjoyed our stay, and the condo worked out perfectly. Great ocean view, and most days there was a good on shore breeze that kept the condo comfortable, we only used the AC one day; after that we let mother nature keep things comfortable. Unit was nicely appointed and everything worked. Very convenient for north end island adventures in the Kohala/Waimea area. Relaxing area without the tourist catering businesses found further south. It was our home away from home. Regards,
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Ming
Reviewed: Jul 25, 2017
Property
Very nice home and location. Hosts were very accommodating.
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Jeremie
Reviewed: Jul 24, 2017
Property
Its great for kids, can accommodate large group. We had a really good time look forward to staying there again.
View Property: Honu Ohana - Puako 59
Aaron
Reviewed: Jun 8, 2017
Property
Great place to stay; highly recommended! 5 minute walk on the beach to Fairmont Orchid hotel. Can truly live like a Hawaiian in this space/area!
View Property: Bamboo
Nancy
Reviewed: Jun 3, 2017
Property
Great location. Lots of space to sleep for many people. Nice pool. Nice outdoor area for eating and relaxing. Everything needed to prepare meals, even propane grill. Host provided beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, and coolers.
View Property: Honu Ohana - Puako 59
Suzanne
Reviewed: Jun 1, 2017
Property
Waikoloa Shores #135 is the Perfect Place For A Get Away! This spacious corner unit at Waikoloa Shores is the perfect place to get away from it all. All we needed were our carry-on bags and groceries that we picked up in the shopping center the just south of the Kona-Kailua airport. Waikoloa Shores is an interesting half-hour drive from the airport. The minute we opened the front door, we fell in love with the viewgreen lawns, colorful flowers, and palm trees. There is an enormous covered patio that is also fully furnished. You can walk right out to the lawn that feels like your own back yard. All the sliding glass doors and windows have screens, so we kept things open to let in the breezes. Inside, the two bedrooms are separated by the living-dining room, so we all had a lot of privacy. Wireless was easy to connect to and works well. The kitchen is super well-stocked so we didnt have to buy all the basics. It was great to have a wet bar and a big gas grill on the patio, we cooked a couple of meals out there. There are beach chairs and towels in the hall closetbe sure to bring them along for a good, long sit out at the beach. It only takes 10 minutes to walk to the oceanjust cross the street and go through the access path. There is a lot to walk to in the complexpool, spa, petroglyphs, fish ponds, sunset views, resort hotels, Dolphin Quest, snorkeling, shopping, dining, art, golfing, and more. The owners left a book with lots of great info and directions. We are already saving up for our next visit!
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Pamela
Reviewed: May 30, 2017
Property
Breathtaking Ocean View Puako Beach Condo (Top Floor) Very nice location with a view! Just across a two lane road from the beach. Very clean, well kept with a view. This is a very nice 3 bedroom, two bath accommodation. The grounds are beautiful with fresh fruit on the trees. The pool is clean and refreshing. The location is quiet but still close to great beaches and only a short drive to shopping and restaurants.
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 407
Mike and Shauna
Red Deer County, CA
Reviewed: May 8, 2017
Property Manager
The Team are always considering our needs. We know if we have a problem it will be looked after quickly. It was lovely to get to know Karen & Patti, and have the opportunity to sit on the lani with them to share the brilliant sunset. We look forward to seeing them next year.
Property
We have been staying 3 months in this home every winter for years! We just love being there. It is a quiet, private, location, where we can wake up with the birds outside our window every morning. It is a very welcome break from Alberta winters. We can walk up the mountain, kayak with dolphins, whale watch, or just sit and watch the waves. Every sunset is beautiful, and the perfect way to end each wonderful day in Hanu Kai.
View Property: Hanu Kai Kohala By The Sea
Happy Puako Guests
Reviewed: Apr 19, 2017
Property
Right across the street from sandy beach in Puako on the Kohala Coast Feels brand new and the views are great! Our family of 4 found this property to be more than expected. Although the Puako Condo is an older building, it is very well maintained and the tropical gardens all around made coming home from our beach outings even more welcoming. This top floor unit offers everything you might want and it was less than the cost of a hotel room! Our daughter had the bedroom in the back with a king size bed, our son took the twin bedroom in the back. They shared the bathroom in the hall with the twin beds. My husband and I had the ocean facing bedroom and used the other bathroom adjacent to it. Although we were very active and out seeing the island, we tried to get home every evening for the amazing sunsets and prepare a meal in the wonderful kitchen. Our dinners were typically outside on the lanai facing the ocean. Our children would often time go down to the pool in the early evening or they walked across the street to the beach while were prepared dinner. It was just a fabulous vacation for us and we would love to return next year!
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Sarah
Reviewed: Apr 18, 2017
Property
Puako is a great place to stay, with beautiful beaches close by (69 was a favorite), and a lovely General Store for anything you forget to bring (although a little pricey)! It is quite far from Kona and grocery stores (approx. 40mins), so a tip for all would be to plan your meals and shop big before you head to Puako! You will definately need a rental car to get around and access the different beaches, and shopping areas in the nearby resorts. The house was great - well equipped with everything you require (including beach gear for the kids). Large and spacious - our extended family had plenty of room to ensure we didn't get in each other's way. However, it does get very warm upstairs, so might be an idea to purchase the additional air-con. We didn't and it was pretty sticky up there at night. Only not-as-positive feedback is safety around the pool - we had toddlers with us and needed to be on guard at all times, as we weren't able to lock some of the screen doors near the pool. Pattie was a great host - communicative and responsive. Finally - I recommend swimming with the manta-rays - a very cool experience ...!!
View Property: Honu Ohana - Puako 59
Bo
Reviewed: Apr 12, 2017
Property
We had a lovely time at the house, it was very peaceful and quiet . Shelia was very helpful and kind and the house was so clean and welcoming when we arrived. The homemade chocolate chip cookies and fresh flowers were a nice touch. The house was well stocked in every way, beach toys, sunscreen, drink mixers, kitchen utensils, pillows, bathroom supplies, it pretty much had everything you could need! The grounds were well kept and the outside shower a real treat. I loved sitting on the side porch reading and listening to the ocean and all the birds. The beach across the street is a hidden gem. At low tide the little pools are warm and so fun to swim in. We found the snorkeling to be the best on the island right there, filled with fish and turtles. Loved being at the end of the road. So thank you for a lovely place! We will look forward to coming back to the Big Island again, had so much fun exploring hiking swimming, being. Appreciate your excellent service with the house, Take care.
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
James and Eva
Reviewed: Mar 21, 2017
Property
Puako Beach Cottage Right across the street from the ocean. The sum of Paniau Surf Cottage is greater than its parts My wife of fifty plus years and I have been visiting Puako each year for many years. How odd it is, to find a nearly-perfect house at the end of Puako Beach Drive after all those years. We rented the cottage a year ago and almost immediately, began to have questions about the location and the house. Would the house be as portrayed in images and words? Would it be dusty from the access road behind? Would it be noisy from the parking lot across the street? Would the neighbors be quiet? Would the house be hot during the day? Would it be clean? Would there be mildew and/or mold? Would there be excessive rules and regs? The answer to each of these questions (and others which I now cant recall) was NO. Upon our arrival, Sheila met us and took us through a tour of the cottage showing off the features and explaining what needed to be explained. [At this point, I must be brutally honest and say that as an American male I do not easily ask for directions. I never did figure out the DVR.] She was an invaluable neighbor and helper and now our friend. Patty, the property manager, also was prompt with helpful answers and useful information. All aspects of the house and grounds delighted us. We particularly liked the lanai with its comfortable furniture, lights and fans (We ate all of our lunches and a couple of dinners there). Inside, we liked the simplicity and openness, the tile floors, the many ceiling fans and the lack of frou-frou. During the day, the interior remained cool with good ventilation from all sides. The trade winds provided a refreshing breeze from the ocean at the front. At night, cool winds came down from Mauna Kea to the rear. The house recently underwent an excellent upgrading ... what we needed was there and everything worked for us. Outside, the lawn and comfortable lounge chairs were perfect for catching some rays. The open space to the rear and side (views of volcanoes and kiawe) and the many varieties of butterflies and birds (including a pueo behind the house one day) plus several mongooses surrounded us with Big Island nature. A short walk across the street brought us to Paniau Bay and enjoyable shore walks in both directions. There were many spectacular sunsets. If we were to come again to Puako, we absolutely would reserve the Paniau Surf Cottage with no reservations what-so-ever. Hey, wait a minute ... we are returning next February!
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako