Testimonials , Guest Reviews, Comments Hawaii Vacation Rentals

Hawaii Vacation Rentals Guest Testimonials
 
Pattie Freeman is Owner/Realtor of Hawaii Vacation Rentals, Inc. and has been in business for 25 years in Hawaii. She is well known for her creative view on the Hawaiian Island lifestyle. If you would like to purchase oceanfront land here in the islands, then Puako Pattie is the person to contact. Her e mail is [email protected] and if you have any questions please call 800-332-7081 or 808-882-7000.
 







 
Patricia Freeman, Realtor Broker




Please e-mail any comments or testimonials you would like to add.
 

Reviewed: Jan 25, 2018
Property
If you havent been to the big island of Hawaii before, this is great location. We don't like big mega resorts, and that is many of the nicer places to stay on the big island. Since you are on Airbnb, you probably are not the typical big resort traveller! The other place to stay we considered Kona, which is an urbanized/suburbanized area, and if you are hitting bars at night is probably a good area. There are lot of smaller hotels, hostels, etc. In Puako, you have to drive a few miles to get to things, but that is pretty much the norm. Puako Beach is a quiet residential neighborhood of (mostly) single family houses right on a road next to the beach, literally you are accros the road from a public beach. By beach in the big island, we don't necessarily mean sandy beach, this mostly not. That could be a rocky/volcanic entrance which is what Puako Beach is, which is just across the street. Snorkeling is great, there is a drop off 100 yards out from the beach. Fish everywhere including the shallow areas. In Hawaii, when we were there, it is common the waves are big, and is best left for calm days, or may get shoved up against rocks. Don't expect to be going everyday snorkeling. You need to pick the calm days. However, what is great about this place is just a couple of miles north is the best beach on the big island. All beaches are public, and you can go to any of the resort beaches or the parks. Just south of this house is several miles of big resorts/condo/house complexes that have a gated community feel. You can walk about a half mile down the shoreline and get to them. There are bunch of restaurants, shopping areas, grocery stores, all in a nice gated community feel. We used this as the base camp to visit all corners of the island, which is a bit of driving. Go see the volcanos, Hilo, Kona, indigenous Hawaiian ruins, the telescopes, rain forests, waterfalls. Lots of things to see. Spent a few days at the sandy beaches up the way, and a few days at the house snorkeling, and hiking around to the resort areas. The house is very accommodating, if the setup is a little dated. The bedrooms are on the ground floor which are two king size beds. The place is best for 4 people and probably not many more. It is very comfortable with lots of patio/deck space, clean, organized manicured. Everything you need for cooking, a grill, spices, dishes, cookware, etc. Most of the time we went and bought food at the grocery store at the mega resorts and ate at home, and prepped what we needed for our day adventures. Plenty of beach stuff was there as well in the outdoor cabinet. You will want a car. Hawaii is an island but it is big and is the only way to...
View Property: Bamboo
Reviewed: Jan 24, 2018
Property
Fantastic Views! Great place - amazing views! Nice modern decor, just the right size for a couple or small family. LOVED the privacy, the location and the open plan and flow to the house. The only thing missing would be a pool, but with that many great beaches nearby it wasn't a big deal. Fantastic deal for the price. Onsite Villa Host Rating: (5 Stars!)
View Property: Hanu Kai Kohala By The Sea
Reviewed: Dec 20, 2017
Property
The photos accurately depicted the condo - it was lovely. Everything was as it was described and the patio was immense - sunrise on one side and sunset on the other! The market at the Queen's Shopping Center made cooking in very easy! Don't miss the Sansei Restaurant at the same shopping center on Sunday and Monday between 5:00 - 6:00 when all food is 50% off! We liked Waikoloa and hope to return to this condo in the near future. So many times the pictures make a place look better, your pictures were very accurate and there was no disappointment! The bed was great and I could watch the sunrise from bed - WOW! The kitchen was well appointed with everything we could ever need. We would come back in a heartbeat. Thanks!
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: Dec 15, 2017
Property
Comfortable, clean, cozy, authentic, well appointed, beautiful location, lots of little extras. Not a sterile, modern resort, but a comfortable, clean, cozy home that gives a genuine Hawaiian experience. Beautiful location on Puako Drive, Hawaiian furniture and decor, very comfortable beds, everything clean. Caretaker next door was convenient but not intrusive. All the kitchen and household items we needed plus special touches like flowers and treats to get us started. Books and information in the house were very interesting and useful.
View Property: Bamboo
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2017
Property
~ Best family-friendly beach cottage ~ 5 Stars! We really enjoyed our stay here at the end of Puako Beach Drive. The cottage was perfect for our family of four. Because the cottage is surrounded by forest there are many birds to watch and listen for. My kids loved seeing the geckos and occasional mongoose slinking across the road. You can hear the ocean swells at night from the bedrooms. There is a beach access right across the road for watching the sunset and swimming (when the swell isn't high). Took us a few days to find the entry point (look for the keyhole) but by observing the locals and asking questions we figured it out. The snorkelling is really good out off of the reef here. This location is perfect. You can walk south to the mega-resorts like the Mauna Lani and Fairmont Orchid, or it is a short drive north to Wailea Beach and Hapuna Beach (best boogie boarding). The towns of Waimea and Hawi are not too far away for exploring and farmer's markets. The cottage has everything you could need: well-appointed kitchen, outdoor shower, laundry, speedy internet, beach & snorkelling equipment, BBQ, quiet and calm surroundings, caretaker on site if you need help with anything. We will definitely stay here again when we come to the Big Island again.
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Kamuela, US
Reviewed: Oct 29, 2017
Property Manager
Great!
Property
The location of this property is amazing and despite the extremely high winds while we were there, we enjoyed swimming from the house in the early morning while the 69's was empty. Homes so close to the water can sometimes have a musty feeling, but this home felt fresh and very well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and quality of bedding nice. The home was well appointed and clean. The outdoor showers were a highlight as they are private and lovely. It really is an amazing spot. I often looked at the house from the beach wondering what it was like. It did not disappoint, what a wonderful home. Thank you.
View Property: Aina Malia
Reviewed: Oct 29, 2017
Property Manager
Great!
Property
The location of this property is amazing and despite the extremely high winds while we were there, we enjoyed swimming from the house in the early morning while the 69's was empty. Homes so close to the water can sometimes have a musty feeling, but this home felt fresh and very well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and quality of bedding nice. The home was well appointed and clean. The outdoor showers were a highlight as they are private and lovely. It really is an amazing spot. I often looked at the house from the beach wondering what it was like. It did not disappoint, what a wonderful home. Thank you.
View Property: Aina Malia
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2017
Property
We were pleasantly surprised how open, spacious, and clean the condo is. When the beach towels were missing they promptly brought over some for us, as we were headed out to a day at the beach nearby. Well appointed, with things such as coolers, beach chairs, snorkel gear, bbq grill, patio chairs, etc. Its also located in such a lovely area, nearby to the Hilton resort, and two nice shopping areas, the Queens and Kings with bars and restaurants for your eating pleasure. We even found a farmers market on Wednesday morning! We would definitely highly recommend this vacation rental and we hope we can come back again! Mahalo!
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: Oct 24, 2017
Property
We really enjoyed our stay here. The place is roomy with a well-stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, and lovely patio area with gas grill. I was in town for a conference at the Hilton and the place is just a short walk away from the conference area, but much more relaxing and better value than staying in the hotel. Strongly recommended.
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: Oct 24, 2017
Property
Waikaloa Beach is a great location - very convenient with a great beach, lots of shops for convenience, yet quiet and relaxing and only a 20 minute drive down the Queen K Hwy to the airport. Just wanted to say we really loved the apartment and had a great stay. We were really impressed with how well the apartment was stocked and all the amenities. We loved our stay.
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: Oct 18, 2017
Property
This condo is a great place to stay. It's seconds from a nice beach and minutes from a world class one. It's a bit far north from Kona, but that gets you away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy area. Highly recommend this location.
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2017
Property
We enjoy the privacy, the direct access to the ocean, the views of Waialea Bay, the Kohala Range, and the tree lined beach. It is difficult break the experience into parts; it is an experience that starts when you walk through the gates and look out through the palm trees to Maui, from the smells of the flowers in the morning, to the sound of the surf, the setting is unique and it combines to create a relaxed tranquil environment. The ocean activities are unlimited, the beach is unique, and the island offers - volcano exploration at Volcano National Park, scuba diving, snorkeling, paddle boarding, horseback riding, sailing, helicopter adventures, and experiences in the Hawaiian Culture at Puukohala Heiau National Park. We have participated in all of it over the time we have spent at Aina Malia and each year discover a new activity. We have recommended Aina Malia to others and one recently booked it for seven days and will be rebooking next year for a longer period. It easy to share this opportunity with others spend several weeks once you have tried it.
View Property: Aina Malia
Oakland, US
Reviewed: Sep 11, 2017
Property Manager
Property
This was our second stay at Aina Malia. I cannot say enough about its spectacular location. The fact that there is no indoor dining has not been an issue for us on either of our stays. We love the property and appreciated the ability to have a kayak and paddleboards, along with the necessary PFDs for children ranging in age from 1-10, delivered to the house.
View Property: Aina Malia
Reviewed: Sep 8, 2017
Property Manager
Aloha, Pattie! Thank you so much for everything! Our experience with you and Hawaiian Vacation Rentals was outstanding. We recommend you to anyone that asks!
View Property: Villages at Mauna Lani Resort 510
Reviewed: Sep 6, 2017
Property
Exceptionally magical! 5 STARS We had a perfect vacation - everything we could have possibly needed or wanted was there! From the decor to the floor plan, we were impressed and delighted! Thank you for making our holiday truly magical!
View Property: Villages at Mauna Lani Resort 510
Reviewed: Sep 2, 2017
Property
This quaint beach cottage is in a truly magical location and any "funkiness" is quickly over-ruled by it's incredible location and ease of inhabiting. We quickly got used to the 2 levels and locking up one to access the other situation. The upstairs kitchen/livingroom area is more than adequate, super comfortable with lovely furnishings, and has a very lovely lania for outdoor dining with a glance at the ocean. The kitchen is well stocked and we so appreciated the pantry that accumulated past resident's fine provisions. The caretaker (Sheila) who lives next door is so incredibly helpful and friendly and made us feel quite welcomed. The location really can't be beat. There is a wonderful shoreline access just across the street with such an easy access into the ocean for great snorkeling. Just 2 miles away is what we believe to be the BEST beach on the island. This is a lovely place to stay on one of the most revered spots on the island!
View Property: Bamboo
Reviewed: Sep 1, 2017
Property
Everything is great! The condo is beautiful and the location couldn't be better. We are thrilled and happy to be staying here. Mahalo!
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Reviewed: Aug 31, 2017
Property
What a wonderful stay in such a beautiful spot. The condo is super comfortable and well appointed. Everything one needs in the kitchen is available, including a coffee grinder for sipping Kona coffee, pots and pans to create a home cooked meal, wine glasses to celebrate with on the ample lanai. The view is amazing - looking over the coconut trees to the ocean is heavenly. There are a lot of fruit trees on the grounds, and the groundskeepers leave papayas, bananas, lemons and oranges for guests. I had a most excellent stay. Mahalo!
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Reviewed: Jul 28, 2017
Property
We enjoyed our stay, and the condo worked out perfectly. Great ocean view, and most days there was a good on shore breeze that kept the condo comfortable, we only used the AC one day; after that we let mother nature keep things comfortable. Unit was nicely appointed and everything worked. Very convenient for north end island adventures in the Kohala/Waimea area. Relaxing area without the tourist catering businesses found further south. It was our home away from home. Regards,
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Reviewed: Jul 25, 2017
Property
Very nice home and location. Hosts were very accommodating.
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: Jul 24, 2017
Property
Its great for kids, can accommodate large group. We had a really good time look forward to staying there again.
View Property: Honu Ohana - Puako 59
Reviewed: Jun 8, 2017
Property
Great place to stay; highly recommended! 5 minute walk on the beach to Fairmont Orchid hotel. Can truly live like a Hawaiian in this space/area!
View Property: Bamboo
Reviewed: Jun 3, 2017
Property
Great location. Lots of space to sleep for many people. Nice pool. Nice outdoor area for eating and relaxing. Everything needed to prepare meals, even propane grill. Host provided beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, and coolers.
View Property: Honu Ohana - Puako 59
Reviewed: Jun 1, 2017
Property
Waikoloa Shores #135 is the Perfect Place For A Get Away! This spacious corner unit at Waikoloa Shores is the perfect place to get away from it all. All we needed were our carry-on bags and groceries that we picked up in the shopping center the just south of the Kona-Kailua airport. Waikoloa Shores is an interesting half-hour drive from the airport. The minute we opened the front door, we fell in love with the viewgreen lawns, colorful flowers, and palm trees. There is an enormous covered patio that is also fully furnished. You can walk right out to the lawn that feels like your own back yard. All the sliding glass doors and windows have screens, so we kept things open to let in the breezes. Inside, the two bedrooms are separated by the living-dining room, so we all had a lot of privacy. Wireless was easy to connect to and works well. The kitchen is super well-stocked so we didnt have to buy all the basics. It was great to have a wet bar and a big gas grill on the patio, we cooked a couple of meals out there. There are beach chairs and towels in the hall closetbe sure to bring them along for a good, long sit out at the beach. It only takes 10 minutes to walk to the oceanjust cross the street and go through the access path. There is a lot to walk to in the complexpool, spa, petroglyphs, fish ponds, sunset views, resort hotels, Dolphin Quest, snorkeling, shopping, dining, art, golfing, and more. The owners left a book with lots of great info and directions. We are already saving up for our next visit!
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: May 30, 2017
Property
Breathtaking Ocean View Puako Beach Condo (Top Floor) Very nice location with a view! Just across a two lane road from the beach. Very clean, well kept with a view. This is a very nice 3 bedroom, two bath accommodation. The grounds are beautiful with fresh fruit on the trees. The pool is clean and refreshing. The location is quiet but still close to great beaches and only a short drive to shopping and restaurants.
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 407