Testimonials , Guest Reviews, Comments Hawaii Vacation Rentals

Hawaii Vacation Rentals Guest Testimonials
 
Pattie Freeman is Owner/Realtor of Hawaii Vacation Rentals, Inc. and has been in business for 25 years in Hawaii. She is well known for her creative view on the Hawaiian Island lifestyle. If you would like to purchase oceanfront land here in the islands, then Puako Pattie is the person to contact. Her e mail is [email protected] and if you have any questions please call 800-332-7081 or 808-882-7000.
 







 
Patricia Freeman, Realtor Broker




Please e-mail any comments or testimonials you would like to add.
 

Reviewed: May 8, 2018
Property Manager
Booking was very easy and specifics regarding the rental usage easy to understand.
Property
Easily accessible, nice location and very comfortable. This rental is in a great location, having a great view and privacy. It is the perfect location for a family to relax and enjoy Hawaii away from the life of a busy tourist. Having a private parking space is a simple treat. For anyone who has visited Hawaii more than once, this is a perfect retreat location. Renting of the property was easy and the rules of stay clearly specified.
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 403
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Everything is great! We are having a wonderful time and love the condo. It is very comfortable, roomy and well stocked. It has everything we need and its so close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The pool is fantastic and we have been playing tennis almost every day. We definitely recommend this place!
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: Apr 19, 2018
Property Manager
Thank you so much for hosting us. We loved the (Bamboo Cottage) space and we had a wonderful trip.
Property
Ideal location, terrific, quirky space, and the best set of knives that I've ever used in an airbnb :) We're big cooks, and we were super impressed by the kitchen equipment. Thank you!
View Property: Bamboo
Reviewed: Apr 19, 2018
Property
Lovely stay for a family This is our second visit to Puako, first though at this beach cottage and we loved it. We are a family of five that fit comfortably (our daughters shared a bed) in the spacious house that had good amenities and a nice layout. The property is well maintained and the owners are responsive. A woman next door helps take care of any issues that might arise and when we arrived had some nice goodies (baked goods etc.) waiting for us. The property is right across the street from the ocean and you can easily just walk across Puako drive and watch the sunset, snorkel (though the surf at times can be rough) or take a short walk to one of the local beaches or the very cool petroglyphs. We would stay at this home again, we loved it! ~ Jonah
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Reviewed: Apr 11, 2018
Property
Overall, we had a fine experience staying in this home. The area where the house is located is very peaceful, kitchen is well stocked, and has amazing access to the ocean across the street (the caretaker also lives next door, and was very responsive to our questions). The house itself may not be the fanciest place in the neighborhood, but it is comfortable with air conditioning and ceiling fans throughout, three separate bedrooms (one with a futon bed) and a comfortable living room. The house also backs up to an undeveloped area with plenty of birds, wildlife and great privacy. This being the tropics, bugs are also quite prevalent -- some of which occasionally like to visit inside the house (whether you want them or not). Puako is a great, off-the-beaten-path area and perfect for those who want a quiet retreat. ~ Peter
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Reviewed: Apr 2, 2018
Property Manager
Appreciated the visit from the 2 staff members upon arrival- we had walked in the door 5 minutes before they did. They showed us the pool/spa settings which was helpful; and I was able to ask any questions I had. I felt we could have called if we needed anything but we were just fine.
Property
We loved --- the views, the pool/spa and lounge chairs, grill Well stocked kitchen with every tool we could need Plenty of things to do- we felt like we rented our own resort room darkening shades in bedrooms shampoo/conditioner/soap in all showers; soap at all sinks appreciated the early check in for my husband!!!We had a great visit! I left a review on airbnb trying to mention the lovely time we had and what a great place it was for our family. Thank you- we had a great visit. - Leigh
View Property: Hawaii Happy Healthy House
Reviewed: Apr 2, 2018
Property
Paniau Cottage was a dream....beautifully decorated, well appointed kitchen, amazingly comfy beds, a killer outdoor shower (we never even used the indoor one) and very clean. We arrived to fresh tropical flowers placed throughout the house , the cooler and fans on to refresh us, and sweet notes from the caretaker inviting us to call her if we needed anything! The location is unbelievable...last house on the block (quiet), the best snorkeling right across the street (really!) and a lovely forest in the backyard where we awoke each morning to gentle bird sounds. We would rent this house again in a heartbeat! ~ Jessica
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Burlington, CA
Reviewed: Apr 1, 2018
Property Manager
Pattie and her team are always ready to serve and suggest activities in the area.
Property
Being the 3rd time staying in the condo. we noticed the changes/improvements to the condo this time. The only 2 things I wished for was a 2nd pot and a masher. we do a lot of cooking while on the island. the one thing we were going to suggest is a vacuum and Karen replaced it just before we left.
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 407
Reviewed: Mar 27, 2018
Property
We absolutely enjoyed this property! It was very spacious and homey at the same time! It was the perfect location for participating in the Lavaman Triathlon and having your whole family and grandparents with you. I could ride my bike and run easily from this location. The pool was so clean, large, and never crowded. We enjoyed the lanai very much because it felt private. It was also easy to try out many different beaches from this location. The only unfortunate thing that happened was the washing machine broke, which was somewhat difficult because we packed light knowing we had a washer and dryer. We were provided a laundry service, which was nice. Also the grill was only half functioning. We appreciated the prompt reply and attempts to alleviate the appliance problems! If we come back to Kona I would definitely stay here again. ~ Jenna
View Property: Mauna Lani Fairways 905
Reviewed: Mar 11, 2018
Property
Perfect set up for a family. We enjoyed our time in Puako. It was located near 3 beautiful white beaches. Take advantage of cooking yourself or packing lunches for days at the beach. ~ Melissa
View Property: Puako Condo Unit 407
Reviewed: Mar 8, 2018
Property
We really like Paniau Surf Cottage! My wife and I just spent our second February at the end of the road in Puako ... and we will be returning in 2019 for our third February stay. Paniau Surf Cottage became even nicer this year with the addition of the lanai dining table and privacy screen, the small refrigerator for our wine, extra bath towels, etc. On our arrival, we found flowers and a spotlessly clean cottage. The cottage and furnishings could not be more comfortable and inviting. We do not like to use AC ... and with the excellent cross-ventilation, the interior stayed pleasantly cool during the warm days. The lanai with its overhead fans and comfortable chairs was a pleasant place to spend a few tropical hours. We absolutely have no complaints. We enjoyed the privacy and quiet ... and the many varieties of birds (even the francolins ... waking us at 6 am each morning). There were at least three types of geckos, a mongoose, a couple of cats, turkeys back in the kiawe forest ... and late one night, four wild pigs by the picnic table. The grounds are excellently landscaped ... with a large banyan tree, palms, coconut trees, a mango tree, a couple of papaya trees, other tropical trees, plumeria shrubs, etc., etc., etc. Nature in its many forms is not predictable ... and it is not sanitized. This was the second wettest February in 25 years (according to TV weatherman Guy Hagi). With the increased rain, the vegetation flourished ... attracting more insects, more rodents, and more birds of more kinds (I suppose Elton John would call it the Circle of Life). We did have some mosquitoes at night on the lanai (the fans helped) and no-see-ums during overcast days. There were a few inevitable cockroaches in the cottage (the 747s stayed outside), a few crazy ants ... and one evening on the kitchen counter, a cute little mouse (my wife's description) which found its way back outside. Sheila, our friend next door, is an important component of the joy of Paniau Surf Cottage ... always available to help but never intrusive. Finally, I should remark that I still have not learned how to operate the Blu Ray player. Perhaps next year! ~ James
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Reviewed: Mar 5, 2018
Property
My husband and I absolutely loved our time at Patties house. It was perfect in every way. It was an absolute dream to stay in such a beautiful, peaceful house. Everything was perfect from A to Z. We immediately felt at home when we arrived. Jay was absolutely wonderful. Not only was he available to answer any questions we had (and we didn't have very many, as the house is equipped with everything we needed and more), he also seemed very genuinely excited to meet us and ensure that we were having a nice stay. There was an element of absolute serenity about being amongst such a beautiful and lush tropical setting each day, enjoying our morning coffee with stunning views all around. This house was a welcome break from the rush of everyday life - a haven to relax in and savor each moment. We look forward to bringing our family here, as it would be perfect for group stays as well! I cannot recommend this house enough. It was truly an exceptional experience and can't wait for our return!!
View Property: Hawaii Happy Healthy House
Reviewed: Feb 27, 2018
Property Manager
Pattie and her associates were responsive, friendly, and efficient... This was the best experience we've had in Hawaii -- and I've been going for thirty years! Also appreciated the quick and friendly support for any and all questions.
Property
This beautiful and comfortably-appointed home is in a scenic, serene, and quiet area with direct beach access. The house is perfect for two families to share and had many amenities (snorkel gear, cooking equipment, beach chairs, extra bedding, etc.) that made the stay easy. Very convenient to nearby beaches, hotels, and shopping, but the best experience of all was enjoying hours on the gorgeous private deck, just looking out over the reefs and ocean! Pattie and her associates were responsive, friendly, and efficient, making this property an ideal choice. This was the best experience we've had in Hawaii -- and I've been going for thirty years! What a lovely home, amazing location, and extensive amenities. Such a treat, and memories we will enjoy for many years to come!
View Property: Puako Sandy Beach Villa
Reviewed: Feb 18, 2018
Property Manager
We were so impressed with the property management, as any question we had regarding how to use the sound system and bbq, were immediately answered.
Property
We have stayed in many fine hotels and several houses and have traveled to Hawaii annually for many years. We can truly say this house was lovely and made for a wonderful stay. The house was spacious, spotlessly clean and very private. We were so impressed with how well appointed it was--the kitchen had every possible utensil and dish--(great if you love to cook, which I do), multiple towels, lovely furnishings. There is also a private tennis court and cabana with kitchenette. The views were beautiful and the pool and hot tub lovely and also private. We were just one couple, but the house would be a perfect spot for 4-5 couples or families. The house is in the gated community of Kohala Ranch which has spectacular views throughout and each house sits on 3+ acre lots. Highly recommend this home.
View Property: Hawaii Happy Healthy House
Reviewed: Feb 15, 2018
Property
We really like Paniau Surf Cottage! My wife and I just spent our second February at the end of the road in Puako ... and we will be returning in 2019 for our third February stay. Paniau Surf Cottage became even nicer this year with the addition of the lanai dining table and privacy screen, the small refrigerator for our wine, extra bath towels, etc. On our arrival, we found flowers and a spotlessly clean cottage. The cottage and furnishings could not be more comfortable and inviting. We do not like to use AC ... and with the excellent cross-ventilation, the interior stayed pleasantly cool during the warm days. The lanai with its overhead fans and comfortable chairs was a pleasant place to spend a few tropical hours. We absolutely have no complaints. We enjoyed the privacy and quiet ... and the many varieties of birds (even the francolins ... waking us at 6 am each morning). There were at least three types of geckos, a mongoose, a couple of cats, turkeys back in the kiawe forest ... and late one night, four wild pigs by the picnic table. The grounds are excellently landscaped ... with a large banyan tree, palms, coconut trees, a mango tree, a couple of papaya trees, other tropical trees, plumeria shrubs, etc., etc., etc. Nature in its many forms is not predictable ... and it is not sanitized. This was the second wettest February in 25 years (according to TV weatherman Guy Hagi). With the increased rain, the vegetation flourished ... attracting more insects, more rodents, and more birds of more kinds (I suppose Elton John would call it the Circle of Life). We did have some mosquitoes at night on the lanai (the fans helped) and no-see-ums during overcast days. There were a few inevitable cockroaches in the cottage (the 747s stayed outside), a few crazy ants ... and one evening on the kitchen counter, a cute little mouse (my wife's description) which found its way back outside. Sheila, our friend next door, is an important component of the joy of Paniau Surf Cottage ... always available to help but never intrusive. Finally, I should remark that I still have not learned how to operate the Blu Ray player. Perhaps next year!
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Reviewed: Feb 12, 2018
Property
We had a fantastic stay at this home. It had ample space, and tons of extras! Linens, pillows, toiletries, beach gear, and many more. We had a couple questions, and we emailed and got immediate responses from the management company which made our stay that much easier. Perfect location for all types of travelers.
View Property: Mauna Lani Fairways 905
Reviewed: Jan 25, 2018
Property
If you havent been to the big island of Hawaii before, this is great location. We don't like big mega resorts, and that is many of the nicer places to stay on the big island. Since you are on Airbnb, you probably are not the typical big resort traveller! The other place to stay we considered Kona, which is an urbanized/suburbanized area, and if you are hitting bars at night is probably a good area. There are lot of smaller hotels, hostels, etc. In Puako, you have to drive a few miles to get to things, but that is pretty much the norm. Puako Beach is a quiet residential neighborhood of (mostly) single family houses right on a road next to the beach, literally you are accros the road from a public beach. By beach in the big island, we don't necessarily mean sandy beach, this mostly not. That could be a rocky/volcanic entrance which is what Puako Beach is, which is just across the street. Snorkeling is great, there is a drop off 100 yards out from the beach. Fish everywhere including the shallow areas. In Hawaii, when we were there, it is common the waves are big, and is best left for calm days, or may get shoved up against rocks. Don't expect to be going everyday snorkeling. You need to pick the calm days. However, what is great about this place is just a couple of miles north is the best beach on the big island. All beaches are public, and you can go to any of the resort beaches or the parks. Just south of this house is several miles of big resorts/condo/house complexes that have a gated community feel. You can walk about a half mile down the shoreline and get to them. There are bunch of restaurants, shopping areas, grocery stores, all in a nice gated community feel. We used this as the base camp to visit all corners of the island, which is a bit of driving. Go see the volcanos, Hilo, Kona, indigenous Hawaiian ruins, the telescopes, rain forests, waterfalls. Lots of things to see. Spent a few days at the sandy beaches up the way, and a few days at the house snorkeling, and hiking around to the resort areas. The house is very accommodating, if the setup is a little dated. The bedrooms are on the ground floor which are two king size beds. The place is best for 4 people and probably not many more. It is very comfortable with lots of patio/deck space, clean, organized manicured. Everything you need for cooking, a grill, spices, dishes, cookware, etc. Most of the time we went and bought food at the grocery store at the mega resorts and ate at home, and prepped what we needed for our day adventures. Plenty of beach stuff was there as well in the outdoor cabinet. You will want a car. Hawaii is an island but it is big and is the only way to...
View Property: Bamboo
Reviewed: Jan 24, 2018
Property
Fantastic Views! Great place - amazing views! Nice modern decor, just the right size for a couple or small family. LOVED the privacy, the location and the open plan and flow to the house. The only thing missing would be a pool, but with that many great beaches nearby it wasn't a big deal. Fantastic deal for the price. Onsite Villa Host Rating: (5 Stars!)
View Property: Hanu Kai Kohala By The Sea
Reviewed: Dec 20, 2017
Property
The photos accurately depicted the condo - it was lovely. Everything was as it was described and the patio was immense - sunrise on one side and sunset on the other! The market at the Queen's Shopping Center made cooking in very easy! Don't miss the Sansei Restaurant at the same shopping center on Sunday and Monday between 5:00 - 6:00 when all food is 50% off! We liked Waikoloa and hope to return to this condo in the near future. So many times the pictures make a place look better, your pictures were very accurate and there was no disappointment! The bed was great and I could watch the sunrise from bed - WOW! The kitchen was well appointed with everything we could ever need. We would come back in a heartbeat. Thanks!
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: Dec 15, 2017
Property
Comfortable, clean, cozy, authentic, well appointed, beautiful location, lots of little extras. Not a sterile, modern resort, but a comfortable, clean, cozy home that gives a genuine Hawaiian experience. Beautiful location on Puako Drive, Hawaiian furniture and decor, very comfortable beds, everything clean. Caretaker next door was convenient but not intrusive. All the kitchen and household items we needed plus special touches like flowers and treats to get us started. Books and information in the house were very interesting and useful.
View Property: Bamboo
Reviewed: Dec 13, 2017
Property
~ Best family-friendly beach cottage ~ 5 Stars! We really enjoyed our stay here at the end of Puako Beach Drive. The cottage was perfect for our family of four. Because the cottage is surrounded by forest there are many birds to watch and listen for. My kids loved seeing the geckos and occasional mongoose slinking across the road. You can hear the ocean swells at night from the bedrooms. There is a beach access right across the road for watching the sunset and swimming (when the swell isn't high). Took us a few days to find the entry point (look for the keyhole) but by observing the locals and asking questions we figured it out. The snorkelling is really good out off of the reef here. This location is perfect. You can walk south to the mega-resorts like the Mauna Lani and Fairmont Orchid, or it is a short drive north to Wailea Beach and Hapuna Beach (best boogie boarding). The towns of Waimea and Hawi are not too far away for exploring and farmer's markets. The cottage has everything you could need: well-appointed kitchen, outdoor shower, laundry, speedy internet, beach & snorkelling equipment, BBQ, quiet and calm surroundings, caretaker on site if you need help with anything. We will definitely stay here again when we come to the Big Island again.
View Property: Paniau Surf Puako
Kamuela, US
Reviewed: Oct 29, 2017
Property Manager
Great!
Property
The location of this property is amazing and despite the extremely high winds while we were there, we enjoyed swimming from the house in the early morning while the 69's was empty. Homes so close to the water can sometimes have a musty feeling, but this home felt fresh and very well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and quality of bedding nice. The home was well appointed and clean. The outdoor showers were a highlight as they are private and lovely. It really is an amazing spot. I often looked at the house from the beach wondering what it was like. It did not disappoint, what a wonderful home. Thank you.
View Property: Aina Malia
Reviewed: Oct 29, 2017
Property Manager
Great!
Property
The location of this property is amazing and despite the extremely high winds while we were there, we enjoyed swimming from the house in the early morning while the 69's was empty. Homes so close to the water can sometimes have a musty feeling, but this home felt fresh and very well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and quality of bedding nice. The home was well appointed and clean. The outdoor showers were a highlight as they are private and lovely. It really is an amazing spot. I often looked at the house from the beach wondering what it was like. It did not disappoint, what a wonderful home. Thank you.
View Property: Aina Malia
Reviewed: Oct 28, 2017
Property
We were pleasantly surprised how open, spacious, and clean the condo is. When the beach towels were missing they promptly brought over some for us, as we were headed out to a day at the beach nearby. Well appointed, with things such as coolers, beach chairs, snorkel gear, bbq grill, patio chairs, etc. Its also located in such a lovely area, nearby to the Hilton resort, and two nice shopping areas, the Queens and Kings with bars and restaurants for your eating pleasure. We even found a farmers market on Wednesday morning! We would definitely highly recommend this vacation rental and we hope we can come back again! Mahalo!
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135
Reviewed: Oct 24, 2017
Property
Waikaloa Beach is a great location - very convenient with a great beach, lots of shops for convenience, yet quiet and relaxing and only a 20 minute drive down the Queen K Hwy to the airport. Just wanted to say we really loved the apartment and had a great stay. We were really impressed with how well the apartment was stocked and all the amenities. We loved our stay.
View Property: Shores at Waikoloa 135